

N.6: RRCAT scientists honoured

In order to encourage scientists, engineers, and technical personnel of various units by acknowledging their contribution to overall R&D efforts, Department of Atomic Energy has instituted several awards in various categories. The awards for the year 2006 were presented during the "Technology Day" function at Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, on May 11, 2008, by Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, ex-President of India. RRCAT had a good share in these awards as detailed below:

A) Homi Bhabha Science and Technology Award



Dr. Sindhunil Barman Roy, Head, Materials, Advanced Accelerator Science and Cryogenics Division, RRCAT has been awarded the prestigious *Homi Bhabha Science and Technology Award* for his contribution in the field of physics of magnetic materials and superconductors. This award carries a medal, citation and a cash prize of Rs. 5,00,000.

B) Young Scientist Award



Dr. Avnish Kumar Sharma, a member of Laser Plasma Division of RRCAT has been awarded *Young Scientist Award* for his contribution in the field of ultra-short pulse lasers. This award carries a medal, citation and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000.

C) Young Technologist Award

Mr. S. Sendhil Raja, a member of Laser Bio-medical Applications and Instrumentations Division, RRCAT, has been awarded *Young Technologist Award* for his contributions in the field of laser based instrumentation. This award carries a medal, citation and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000.



D) Group Achievement Award



A group from Solid State Laser Division (SSLD) of RRCAT has been awarded *Group Achievement Award* for their contribution in the field of use of industrial Nd:YAG lasers for NPCIL and other units of DAE. This group consists of the following scientists / engineers / technical personnel from SSLD, RRCAT: 1) B.N. Upadhyay (Group Leader), 2) S.C. Vishwakarma, 3) R.K. Jain, 4) Rajesh Arya, 5) S.K. Sah, 6) Amber Chaubey, 7) D.K. Agarwal, 8) B.K. Saini, 9) Rajpal Singh, 10) Blacius Ekka, and 11) Sabir Ali.



The award was received on behalf of the group by Mr. B. N. Upadhyay. The award carried a medal, citation and a cash prize of Rs. 2,50,000 for the group.