



Young Scientist Award:

Dr. Chandra Pal Singh, SO/D, Laser Physics Application Division was awarded with Young Scientist Award.

Scientific & Technical Excellence Award:







Dr. M.K. Chattopadhyay

Dr. Arup Banerjee, SO/G, Laser Physics Applications Division and Dr. M.K. Chattopadhyay, SO/E, Materials & Advanced Accelerator Science Division were awarded with Scientific & Technical Excellence Award.

These awards were given by Honorable (then) Minister of State and Minister of State for Science & Technology, Shri Pritviraj Chawhan on 29 October, 2010 on the occasion of BARC's Foundation day.

N.7: Award of Excellence to RRCAT Scientist



Sanjeev Kumar Tiwari of Laser Physics Applications Division received the "Award of Excellence" for the best performance in Summer School on Lasers & Laser Applications 2010 (SSOLLA-2010) held at the Advanced Photonics Research Institute (APRI), Gwangju Institute of Science & Technology (GIST), Gwangju, South Korea during

August 02-05, 2010. The school was organized by the Asian Laser Center, APRI which is established to promote cooperation between Asian laser researchers. Professor In Won Lee, Director of APRI presented the award to Sanjiv Kumar Tiwari. The award consists of a citation and a cash prize of \$100.

N.8: Best Poster Award during Plasma 2010 Symposium

A poster titled "High order harmonic generation in plasma plume of in-situ produced silver nanoparticles", authored by H. Singhal, R. A. Ganeev, P. A. Naik, J. A. Chakera, U. Chakravarty, H. S. Vora, A. K. Srivastava, C. Mukherjee, C. P. Navathe, S. K. Deb, and P. D. Gupta, was judged the best poster in the 25th National symposium on Plasma Science & technology- Plasma 2010, winning a cash prize of Rs. 5000. The symposium was held during at Institute of Advanced Study in Science and Technology (IASST), Guwahati during December 8-11, 2010.

Reported by: J. A. Chakera (chakera@rrcat.gov.in)

N.9: Best Poster Award during NLS-19 Symposium

The following papers were awarded with best poster award during NLS-19 symposium:

- "75W of continuous-wave green beam generation by intracavity frequency doubling of diode side pumped Nd:YAG laser", authored by A. J. Singh, S. K. Sharma, P. K. Mukhopadhyay, and S. M. Oak, Solid State Laser Division.
- "Passivation of GaAs_{0.86}P_{0.14}/A1_{0.6}Ga_{0.4}As near Surface quantum well", authored by Suparna Pal¹, S. D. Singh¹, S. Porwal¹, S. W. D'Souza², S. R. Barman², and S. M. Oak¹ belonging to: ¹Semiconductor Laser Section, Solid State Laser Division, RRCAT, Indore, ²UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore

N.10: RRCAT family wishes happy and healthy life on superannuation



Shri K.K.Thakkar worked as Health Physicist at RRCAT since year 1995. He joined Theoretical Reactor Physics Section of RED, BARC in year 1972. He was attached to group working for fuel management service for Tarapur reactors. He also worked as health physicist at CIRUS-BARC, Rajasthan Atomic Power Station and Cobalt Facility at Kota. He

was involved in preparation of emergency preparedness plan for RAPS and Heavy Water Project, Kota. Shri Thakkar laid down his office on superannuation on 31.10.2010.